valerievisual

Readings, and Related Inspirations

Participant Pedagogy in Games

3 Comments

Hey all –

For today’s MOOCMOOC challenge, I would like to re-introduce the idea of gaming in the classroom. Some of us had mentioned this in the first #moocmooc discussion on Sunday.

Based on our readings, and some thoughts I have had about decreasing the grading load, especially for us composition teachers, I have come up with a game to play to teach my students rhetorical, audience, networking, community, online, blogging, google doc, and honor system skillz – all rolled into one.

I invite you to check out the game on my syllabus: What’s Making Me Happy. Please please please respect the spaces I have provided for my students and keep the Google Score sheet clean.

I welcome ANY feedback you might have about the game. It launches (in my classrooms) in about 3 weeks. It has never been attempted and I’m not sure what exactly to anticipate.

Cheers!

3 thoughts on “Participant Pedagogy in Games

  1. Thanks for starting this topic! You asked the question in Canvas.net about how gaming relates to participant pedagogy. I asked the same question regarding game-based learning and peeragogy in the peeragogy Google+ Group. Howard Rheinghold responded quickly. Here is part of what I wrote there, “One question that interests me has to do with how the concept of peeragogy clashes or intersects with movements like game-based learning and the gamification of learning (in informal and formal learning environments). The game-driven emphases seem to have a pretty heavy reliance upon behaviorism and extrinsic motivators, at least at face value. Peeragogy, however, seems to have a different, more constructivist, emphasis.”

    Rheingold replied, “I would say that when peers create the game themselves, it would combine both gamified learning and peer learning. Do you know Nomic, Bernard?”
    For those who don’t know Nomic, it is a series of games where the players can change the rules. So it actually relates to your vision here quite nicely.

  2. Nice going, Valerie! I think your game will attract a good deal of interest for your students. I like the positive approach you seem to be taking here. Here are a couple of thoughts, and perhaps you address them in class: 1) Will your criteria for something that makes a student “happy” require it to be something that on the first look that others might not agree with as being “happy”? And related to that, 2) Conversion means changing from one side to another, so how can one “convert” (and thereby gain points) if on the onset most everyone finds the suggested posting to make them happy from the get-go? Again, maybe this is something you deal with in class, such as getting students to use narrative or persuasion, but it wasn’t very clear in the syllabus. In any case, I think it will be a lot of fun, and I hope to hear how it goes. All the best! #MOOCMOOC

  3. Great idea Valerie.Ithink it will be quite an interactive class.Iteach in Kenya where video games are still not so recogised as usable in the teaching learning process.So when i see your innovation working,I do hope tat others will borrow and enhance game based learning in developing countries.Keep me posted on its success and the leaners reaction.

Leave a Reply

